Passport & Visa

Check passport and visa requirements in due time before you leave. Please ask the nearest consulate whether you need a visa for entering Austria.

Austria has signed the Schengen Treaty, which eliminated the border controls between countries.

The Schengen Area currently consists beside of Austria the EU-Countries Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden and Spain (except Great Britain and Ireland), as well as EWR-countries Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

Visitors from a country which is not a member of the Schengen Treaty need only a valid passport or a valid passport with a valid visa.

If you do not exactly know if you need a visa for Austria or not we could recommend following sites:
Federal Ministry for Europe, Integration and Foreign Affairs
Austrian Embassies, career and honorary consulates